Teachers celebrated at 2017 Essex Teaching Awards

By Romi Neale in Education

TEACHERS, teaching assistants and governors scooped gongs at the county’s annual awards on Thursday.

In their fourth year, the ceremony the Essex County Council-run event took place at Marconi Social Club in Chelmsford to celebrate excellence in education.

The winners will go forward for the Pearson Teaching Awards.

Councillor Ray Gooding, Essex County Council’s cabinet member for education and lifelong learning, said: “Schools in Essex have celebrated some fantastic achievements over the last year, with nine in ten now rated as good or outstanding by Ofsted, exam results continuing to be positive and attendance at an all-time high.

“We have some excellent teachers and staff working in the county’s schools and I was delighted to hear about the difference this year’s Essex Teaching Awards winners have made to the lives of young people.

“I am very proud of their achievements and these awards are a great way of acknowledging their hard work and commitment.

“They are also a further illustration of the exciting opportunities and support awaiting teachers in Essex.”

and highlights the outstanding work of teachers and other staff in the county’s schools.

This year’s award winners were:

Governing Body of the Year Award

Winner: The FitzWimarc School, Rayleigh

Primary/Special School Headteacher of the Year Award

Winner: Sue Bardetti (Holland Haven Primary School, Holland-on-Sea)

Highly Commended: Anne-Marie McCann (St Alban’s Catholic Academy, Harlow)

Highly Commended: Claire Mills, Chancellor Park Primary School, Chelmsford)

Secondary Headteacher of the Year Award

Winner: Emma Baker (Maltings Academy, Witham)

Highly Commended: Damian Lee (New Rickstones Academy, Witham)

Lifetime Achievement Award

Winner: Andrée Smith (Basildon Lower Academy)

Winner: Michelle Orchard (Moulsham Junior School, Chelmsford)

Winner: Sandy Snoxall (Grove Wood Primary School, Rayleigh)

Winner: Nigel Spencer (All Saints’ CofE Primary School, Dovercourt)

New Teacher of the Year Award

Winner: Eleanor Leahy (Beauchamps High School, Wickford)

Highly Commended: Katie Johnson (Richard de Clare Primary School, Halstead)

Team of the Year Award

Winner: Senior Leadership Team (St Thomas More’s Catholic Primary School, Colchester)

Highly Commended: Senior Leadership Team (Forest Hall School, Stansted Mountfitchet)

Highly Commended: The English Department (Moulsham High School, Chelmsford)

Primary School Teacher of the Year Award

Winner: Mary Smith (Home Farm Primary School, Colchester)

Highly Commended: Sara Haines (Hamford Primary Academy, Frinton)

Highly Commended: Karen Pigram (St Peter’s CofE Primary School, West Hanningfield)

Secondary School Teacher of the Year Award

Winner: Flora Christofi (Epping St John’s CofE School)

Highly Commended: Jamie Benson (Greensward Academy, Hockley)

Highly Commended: John McGee (Passmores Academy, Harlow)

Highly Commended: Lucinda Craker (Maltings Academy, Witham)

Highly Commended: Harriet Smith (Colchester Academy)

Special School Teacher of the Year Award

Winner: Richard Smith (Kingswode Hoe School, Colchester)

Winner: Pam Carlaw (Market Field School, Elmstead Market)

Highly Commended: Carole Abbam (Oak View School, Loughton)

Highly Commended: Alix McCarthy (Shorefields School, Clacton)

Teaching Assistant of the Year Award

Winner: Suzanne Sherlock (Canewdon Primary School, Rochford)

Highly Commended: Kate Rugg (Richard de Clare Primary School, Halstead)

Highly Commended: Ian Webdale (Maltings Academy, Witham)

Student Choice Award (Primary)

Winner: Anita Simpson (Silver End Primary School)

Student Choice Award (Secondary)

Winner: Safia Hammoudi-Thomas (Chelmer Valley High School, Chelmsford)

Highly Commended: James Fussey (Great Baddow High School, Chelmsford)

Add Comment

Add Your Comment

You don't need an account to leave a comment

By posting your comment you agree to our T & C