All-square at Woodside in mid-table encounter

Brian Jeeves

Benfleet 1st v Oakfield Parkonians 1st – Hamro Foundation Essex League (First XI Division Two) – Woodside Park – Summary

Benfleet 168/8 (41.0 overs)
Oakfield Parkonians 114/9 (41.0 overs)
Oakfield Parkonians won the toss and elected to bowl
Match Drawn

Oakfield Parkonians dug in doggedly for the draw in this midtable battle at Woodside Park.

Benfleet posted 168/8 in tricky conditions. Skipper, Sam Rowe scoring 40, while Ben Munday (38) and Liam Rouse (31) also made useful contributions – Selvam Ramasamy with 5/60 and Ravi Teja Dwaraka Bhadmidipati (3/35) providing Oakfield’s best moments with the ball.

Taylor Casson with 5/34 and Munday (3/39) appeared to have Benfleet on the cusp of victory. However, Ramasamy was unbeaten on 34 at the close – his determined knock helping the visitors’ to a share of the spoils.

Benfleet 1st: Sam Rowe (Capt), Stephen Reeve, Gavin Blowes, Liam Rouse, Ben Munday, Rob Zammit, David Jarrett, Taylor Casson, John Bull, Dave Prophet, AJ Mitchell (WK)

Oakfield Parkonians 1st: Raihan Hussain, Dhruv Patel, Janagan Vijayanathan, Ravi Teja Dwaraka Bhadmidipati, Baldeep Mann, Paran Kalley, Selvam Ramasamy, Mitkumar Patel, Taranpreet Bhatia, Mohammed Ali Iranpana, Anujan Thiru

Points: Benfleet 8 Oakfield Parkonians 3


Brian Jeeves