Allison stars as Essex’s second string beat Middlesex

Brian Jeeves
Latest posts by Brian Jeeves (see all)

Essex 2nd v Middlesex 2nd – Second XI County Championship – Billericay Cricket Club – Report

Essex 2nd 329 and 294/9 dec

Middlesex 2nd 158 and 426

Essex 2nd won the toss and elected to bat

Essex 2nd won by 39 runs

A superb batting performance from Charlie Allison went some way towards Essex second strings’ Second XI County Championship victory over Middlesex at Billericay Cricket Club.

Allison grabbed the limelight during Essex’s first innings. Batting alongside his brother Ben, the 18-year-old right-hander scored his maiden Second XI century, hitting an unbeaten 102 off 127 balls during a productive 166 minutes at the crease.

Allison’s impressive knock included fifteen 4s and one 6. Jamal Richards contributed 41 and Noah Thain, 39, as Essex reached 329. Max Harris and Toby Greatwood proved to be the most successful of the eight bowlers deployed by Middlesex, returning figures of four for 74 and 3/47 respectively.

Aaron Beard then took charge of proceedings, taking six Middlesex wickets for 47 as the visitors were skittled for 158. Ben Allison took 2/36 as Essex seized control of the contest. Indeed, only a ninth-wicket partnership of fifty between Greatwood and Thilan Walallawita salvaged the situation after the visitors had earlier been reduced to 59 for seven.

Josh Rymell reached 49 and Thain 48 as Essex extended their advantage before declaring their second innings on 294/9 – a lead of 465. Greatwood took his match figures to five for 101.  

Nevertheless, Middlesex continued to make a fist of things. Rhys Lewis carried the fight with 111 off 115 balls, while Nathan Fernandes and Harris both passed fifty. However, Zak Evans stuck to the task, taking five wickets for 101, while Ben Allison and Aron Nijjar took two apiece as Essex confirmed their success.

Essex 2nd: RJ Das, JS Rymell, NRM Thain, AP Beard (Capt), ASS Nijjar, BMJ Allison, CWJ Allison, JA Richards, RJ McKenna (WK), ZK Evans, ES Kalley, N Dwivedi

Middlesex 2nd: JLB Davies, NS Fernandes, RG White (Capt), MK Andersson, DM O’Driscoll (WK), RD Lewis, JA Isbell, MB Harris, TL Greatwood, TN Walallawita, HL Seagrave, NB Cornwell

Umpires: BJ Peverall and B Gates

Scorers: P Parkinson and ND Smith

Brian Jeeves