Bangladesh record a series victory over Ireland at Chelmsford

Ireland v Bangladesh – 2023 ODI Series – Second ODI – Cloud County Ground, Chelmsford – Team News

Bangladesh 274 (48.5 overs)

Ireland 269/9 (50.0 overs)

Ireland won the toss and elected to bowl

Bangladesh won by five runs

Bangladesh recorded a narrow five-run victory over Ireland to complete a 2-0 ODI series success in front of another sellout crowd at Chelmsford.

Skipper Tamim Iqbal scored 69 off 82 balls, while wicketkeeper/batter Mushfiqur Rahim contributed 45 to the Bangladeshi total of 274. Ireland’s Mark Adair returned figures of four for 40, while both George Dockrell and Andy McBrine claimed two wickets apiece.

Paul Stirling (60), Andrew Balbirnie (53) and Lorcan Tucker (50) appeared to have Ireland on course to level the series. However, Mustafizur Rahman finished with four for 44 and Hasan Mahmud 2/44, helping Bangladesh over the line in a contest which went right to the wire.

Ireland: Stephen Doheny, Paul Stirling, Andrew Balbirnie (Capt), Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker (WK), Curtis Campher, George Dockrell, Andy McBrine, Mark Adair, Craig Young, Joshua Little

Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal (Capt), Litton Das, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mushfiqur Rahim (WK), Towhid Hridoy, Mrittunjoy Chowdhury, Rony Talukdar, Mehidy Hasan, Hasan Mahmud, Ebadat Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman

Umpires:  Michael Gough and Roly Black


Brian Jeeves