Brentwood beat Wanstead & Snaresbrook to win the Dukes Essex T20 trophy

Dukes Essex T20 Competition – Billericay Cricket Club – Summary

Brentwood 123/8 (20.0 overs)
Wanstead & Snaresbrook 115/8 (20.0 overs)
Brentwood won the toss and elected to bat
Brentwood won by eight runs

Brentwood Cricket Club secured the first competitive silverware of the 2021 season by beating Wanstead & Snaresbrook in a competitive Dukes Essex T20 final at Billericay.

In typical ‘finals day’ tradition, both the semi-finals and final were staged on the same day, offering some first-class cricket for the sizable Blunts Wall Road crowd.

Brentwood faced Hornchurch in the last four, while Wanstead took on hosts Billericay who had made light of an indifferent campaign to reach this stage of the competition.

Ben Sach was unbeaten on 51, while Jack Levy took 3/21 and Tom Oakley 2/19 as Brentwood prevailed by a comfortable 67 runs. Abdul Baig was Chelmsford’s star performer, taking 3/23 but all to no avail.

Wanstead & Snaresbrook took no prisoners in reaching the final, dispatching Billericay by ten wickets. However, they were to find Brentwood a different proposition in a hard-fought and ultimately close final.

Will Dale is dismissed as Wanstead & Snaresbrook beat Billericay by ten wickets in the Dukes T20 semi-final (Nicky Hayes BTFC Media)

Brentwood posted 123/8. Chris Green – a player with a wealth of experience in the shorter form of the game in the Big Bash League with Sydney Thunder, the Indian Premier League with Kolkata Knight Riders, the Caribbean Premier League with Guyana Amazon Warriors and the Vitality Blast with both Warwickshire and Middlesex – top-scored with 42 off 29 balls – Naivedyam Dwivedi taking 2/12 for the East Londoners.

Green then turned his hand with the ball, taking 2/39, complementing Aaron West (2/17), Thomas Moore (2/18) and Charlie Griffiths (2/27) as the trophy made its way back to the Old County Ground. Tom Simmons did his utmost, scoring 44 off 52, but it was to be Brentwood’s day.

Host’s Chairman, Daren Mootoo, told Yellow Sport; “It was a wonderful day at Billericay Cricket Club – a pleasure to host Finals Day, with the added bonus of us taking part for the very first time.

“Congratulations to the winners Brentwood – It was great to see so many supporters come down and enjoy top-class cricket in the sunshine.

“Special thanks to all the volunteers who helped out on the day.”

Brentwood: Will Buttleman (WK), Aaron West (Capt), Chris Green, Tom Oakley, Jack Hebron, Harry Hobson, Richard Horswill, Charlie Griffiths, Harry Phillips, Ian Belchamber, Thomas Moore

Wanstead & Snaresbrook: Kishen Velani, Tom Simmons, Robin Das, Bilal Patel, Naivedyam Dwivedi, Eshun Kalley, Jonathan Das (WK), Joe Ellis-Grewal (Capt), Zain Shahzad, Adnan Akram, Jahansher Akbar


Brian Jeeves

Email: [email protected]