Colchester out of FA Cup at first hurdle

Colchester United 0-2 Coventry City

Emirates FA Cup, 1st Round

John McGreal’s U’s were comprehensively knocked out of the world’s oldest cup competition by the impressive League One Sky Blues, on Saturday.

First-half Jordan Shipley and Sam McCallum strikes were enough to see Coventry cruise through to the next round.

Having been in total control, from the kick-off, it was no surprise that Shipley should get behind the home defence, latching on to an exquisite 11th minute Liam Walsh pass, and easily beat Dean Gerken.

There was no let up and City doubled their lead on 27 minutes following clumsy Cohen Bramall foul, on Liam Walsh. McCallum’s lofted set-piece totally deceived Gerken and his defence and bounced high into an empty net.

Coventry were almost completely out of sight, three minutes later, when Zain Westbrooke’s almost causal effort had Gerken scrambling to make a low save.

In this eerie atmosphere, Colchester finally troubled a seriously underworked visiting back-four when Kwame Poku’s defence-splitting pass found the overlapping Callum Harriott, who at least forced a save from Ben Wilson.

The second half started in much the same vein as the forgettable opening period, with the Midlanders in total control.

Colchester at least looked livelier, but Westbrooke again went close for the Sky Blues, hitting the base of Gerken’s near post, on 63 minutes.

U’s sub, Luke Norris, with his first touch, at least stirred the home crowd, forcing Wilson into a fine block, at the base of his near post.

Having seen a Shipley effort chalked out for offside, Coventry could even afford the luxury of sub, Callum O’Hare, missing an absolute sitter, eight minutes from time, almost inviting the save from the diving Gerken.

Colchester United: Dean Gerken, Ryan Jackson, Luke Prosser, Tom Eastman, Cohen Bramall, Courtney Senior (Luke Norris 70), Ben Stevenson, Brandon Comley, Callum Harriott (Luke Gambin 55), Kwame Poku, Frank Nouble. Subs (not used): Ethan Ross, Tom Lapslie, Omar Sowunmi, Jevani Brown, Brendan Sarpong-Wiredu.

Coventry City: Ben Wilson, Michael Rose, Kyle McFazdean, Sam McCallum, Fankaty Dabo, Liam Kelly, Liam Walsh, Zain Westbrooke (Josh Eccles 90), Dominic Hyam,  Jordan Shipley (Callum O’Hare 74), Amadou Bakayoko. Subs (not used): Brandon Mason, Gervane Kastaneer, Declan Drysdale, William Bapaga, Cian Tyler.

Referee: Christopher Sarginson

Assistants: George Byrne, Michael George

Fourth Official: Garry Maskell

Attendance: 2919


Rowland Lyons

Email: [email protected]