COVID case causes Essex abandonment

Derbyshire v Essex – LV=Insurance County Championship – The Incora County Ground, Derby – Summary

Derbyshire 146 (47.1 overs)

Essex 86/3 (38.0 overs)

Derbyshire won the toss and elected to bat

Match abandoned

Essex’s LV=Insurance County Championship Group One encounter with Derbyshire has been abandoned after it was confirmed that an unnamed player from the home side had tested positive for COVID-19.

A statement posted by Essex County Cricket Club explained;

The LV= Insurance County Championship fixture between Derbyshire and Essex at The Incora County Ground, Dery, has been abandoned ahead of the second day’s play.

The decision was made after it was confirmed this morning that an unnamed member of the Derbyshire playing squad tested positive for COVID-19.

The player began self-isolating immediately and further players of the Derbyshire playing squad have been identified as close contacts.

Due to isolation protocols and the impact on Derbyshire’s available playing squad, the umpires have abandoned the match.

The Club have worked closely with Public Health England and both Derbyshire and The ECB with the health and safety of players, staff and officials the first priority.

Confirmation of the awarding of points from the match will be announced in due course.

The first day’s play had seen Essex hold the upper hand. Shane Snater led the way with 3/45, while Jimmy Neesham (2/15), Jamie Porter (2/31) and Sam Cook (2/36) contributed handsomely with the ball as Derbyshire were reduced to 146 – Leus du Plooy top-scoring for the home side with 43 during a 168-minute stint in the middle.

Responding, Essex had reached 86/3 at the close. Fynn Hudson-Prentice overseeing the dismissals of skipper, Tom Westley and Michael Pepper – Nicke Browne unbeaten on 28, with Neesham (10). Play resumes on Monday at 11am.

Derbyshire: LM Reece, TA Wood, BD Guest, JL du Plooy, MJJ Critchley (Capt), HRC Came, HR Hosein (WK), AT Thomson, FJ Hudson-Prentice, MAR Cohen, BW Aitchison

Essex: NLJ Browne, AN Cook, T Westley (Capt), MS Pepper, JDS Neesham, RN ten Doeschate, AJA Wheater (WK), SR Harmer, S Snater, SJ Cook, JA Porter

Umpires: NA Mallender and JD Middlebrook

Scorers: JM Brown and AE Choat

Match Referee: PM Such

Brian Jeeves