Das double-ton heroics are not enough for Essex

Middlesex 2nd v Essex 2nd – Second XI Championship – Merchant Taylors’ School – Report

Essex 2nd 483 and 275

Middlesex 2nd 403 and 359/9

Essex 2nd won the toss and elected to bat

Middlesex 2nd won by one wicket

Despite Robin Das becoming the first-ever player to score consecutive double centuries for the string, Essex slipped to a one-wicket defeat at the hands of Middlesex in a high-scoring Second XI Championship encounter at the Merchant Taylors’ School, Northwood.

Das claimed a starring role by scoring 214 off 215 balls during an incredible 309-minute stint at the crease against Kent a little over a week ago and he had the historians reaching for the record books after scoring 232 from 180 as Essex posted a healthy first-inning total of 483 at Northwood.

This time, the 21-year-old right-handed batter hit no less than 38 boundaries and two 6s during another remarkable 273 minutes in the middle. 19-year-old Ronnie McKenna contributed 67 and Feroze Khushi 50. Meanwhile, Nathan Fernandes and Blake Cullen took three wickets apiece for the home side.

Tom Helm scored 85, while Luke Hollman chipped in with 82 and Fernandes 78. However, Jamal Richards and Aaron Beard had figures of 17-2-71-3 and 23-3-83-3 respectively to ensure the visitors an 80-run lead and the midway point.

Helm took four for 32, and Thilan Walallawita 4/63 as the Middlesex attack looked to drag their side back into the contest. Nevertheless, 81 off 146 balls from Simon Fernandes and 65 from Richards appeared to have left Essex in a strong position.

But credit to Middlesex who batted superbly during their second innings to secure victory. Skipper, Robert White led the way with a superb 117 from 153, Hollman followed up his earlier heroics with 75, and Martin Andersson 53.

Toby Greatwood hit Rizvi for four to conclude a fascinating contest, despite the latter taking six for 103 in vain for the beaten Essex side.

Middlesex 2nd: RG White*†, NS Fernandes, SS Eskinazi, MK Andersson, LBK Hollman, AS Sawant, TG Helm, BC Cullen, MAR Cohen, TN Walallawita, SHB Morgan, TL Greatwood

Essex 2nd: RJ Das, FIN Khushi*, RJ McKenna†, HB Usman, AP Beard, JA Richards, SM Fernandes, O Akram, MW Jones, AS Patel, MS Rizvi, BJ Wightman

Umpires: JC Tredwell and M Johnson

Scorers: Mark Shepherd and P Parkinson


Brian Jeeves

Email: sport@yellowad.co.uk