England’s World Cup qualification confirmed as San Marion are handed a caning

San Marino v England – FIFA World Cup Qualifying Group I – Stadio Olimpico di Serravalle – Report

San Marino 0-10 England

The question was always going to be, how many? As it transpired, England booked their seat at the Qatar 2022 FIFA World Cup finals by hitting double figures for the first time since 1964.

Hosts, San Marino, were woefully inadequate in preventing Gareth Southgate’s men from running amock. Harry Kane netted four times – twice from the penalty spot – taking his international tally to 48 from 67 appearances, the same number as Gary Linaker, as well as becoming only the fourth player in history to plunder back-to-back England hat-tricks.

Not content with that, the talismanic Tottenham Hotspur frontman set a new record for netting thirteen goals in a calendar year. Kane was joined on the scoresheet by Harry Maguire, Tyrone Mings, Bakayo Saka, Tammy Abraham, the impressive Emile Smith Rowe, as well as an unfortunate own-goal from San Marino defender, Filippo Fabri.

The home sides miserable night was compounded by the dismissal of Dante Rossi, while the magnitude of their defeat could well have been higher had a concoction of referee, Rade Obrenovič and a seemingly faulty VAR system not chalked of further strikes by Abraham and Jude Bellingham.

San Marino: Elia Benedettini, Alessandro D’Addario (Luca Censoni 46′), Lorenzo Lunadei (Andrea Grandoni 74′), Dante Rossi, Fabio Tomassini (Matteo Vitaioli 46′), Enrico Golinucci, Marcello Mularoni, Filippo Fabbri (Giacomo Conti 81′), Nicola Nanni, José Hirsch (Capt) (Alessandro Golinucci 46′), Manuel Battistini Subs not used: Simone Benedettini (GK), Eugenio Marconi (GK), David Tomassini, Kevin Zonzini, Tommaso Zafferani, Luca Ceccaroli, Michael Battistini

England: Aaron Ramsdale, Trent Alexander­ Arnold, Bukayo Saka, Harry Maguire (Ben Chilwell 46′), Conor Coady, Tyrone Mings, Kalvin Phillips (Conor Gallagher 46′), Jude Bellingham, Harry Kane (Capt) (Reece James 63′), Phil Foden (Tammy Abraham 46′), Emile Smith Rowe (John Stones 73′) Subs not used: Sam Johnstone (GK), Jordan Pickford (GK), Kyle Walker

Referee: Rade Obrenovič (SVN)
Assistants: Grega Kordež (SVN) and Aleksandar Kasapovič (SVN)
Fourth Official: Asmir Sagrković (SVN)


Brian Jeeves

Email: [email protected]