Essex Ability are National D40 champions after beating Surrey

Essex Ability 210/3 (32.0 overs)
Surrey 182/6 (32.0 overs)
Essex Ability won the toss and elected to bat
Essex Ability won by 28 runs

ESSEX’S TALENTED ABILITY XI have been crowned National D40 champions after beating their Surrey counterparts in a rain-affected match at Welwyn Garden City Cricket Club.

Not to be outdone by the clubs senior side, who clinched their first Vitality Blast success the previous day – Essex seized the initiative, despite the game being reduced to 32 overs per side due to the inclement weather conditions.

The match proved to be an excellent contest. Skipper, Lee Walker, led the way with a terrific unbeaten 92 – a knock which included 10 boundaries. Joe Freestone offered able support chipping in with 88 as Essex posted a competitive 210/3 – Khan the pick of the Surrey attack with 3/40.

Grindrod top-scored for Surrey, hitting 45 as they attempted to chase down their target. However, the Essex attack kept up the pressure with Ronnie Jackson claiming 3/22, while Lee Walker and Lee Wheeler were also amongst the wickets, guiding Essex to a 28-run victory and earning them the coveted trophy, much to the delight of the players and band of supporters who had headed to Hertfordshire for the occasion.

Essex: Ronnie Jackson, Andy Catherell (WK), Lee Walker (Capt), Joe Freestone, Liam McFall, Alexander Welby, Matthew Edwards, Toby Howe, Lee Wheeler, Ben Aust, Matthew Thomas

Surrey: A Abbasi, J Grindrod, D Levey, U Khan, M Adams, S Partheepan, M Watkin, M Browne, S Mannion, J Khan, J Studholme

Umpires: Ian Watkins and Roger Abrahams

Brian Jeeves

Email: [email protected]