Essex ace Harmer named as one of Wisden’s elite

POPULAR ESSEX ALL-ROUNDER, Simon Harmer, has been named amongst Wisden’s five Cricketers of the Year.

The 31-year-old became the twenty-sixth Essex player to receive the accolade – the first being Frederick Bull, an off-break bowler who came to the fore with 85 wickets in 1896, 120 in 1897 then 101 in 1898 when he was handed the honour.  

Harmer has produced a string of stellar performances, making him a firm favourite with the Cloudfm County Ground crowd. He captained the Eagles to a dramatic Vitality Blast T20 title in 2019 as well as taking 83 Specsavers County Championship wickets as the club secured their second Division One title in three years.

Speaking to, a delighted Harmer said: “I think the biggest thing is the tradition that goes with this award.

“I can remember as a 12 or 13-year-old reading who the Wisden Cricketers of Year were and it’s a pretty prestigious list that’s been going for well over a hundred years.

“It’s something I am extremely proud of because it’s not something I set out to achieve, but when you have a good season and the team wins trophies, these things come along with it. I’m genuinely proud of what we’ve achieved as a team and what I have achieved personally as well.”

The list of previous Essex players to receive the honour is as follows;

1898: F.G. Bull

1902: C.P. McGahey

1904: W. Mead

1905: P.A. Perrin

1915: J.W.H.T. Douglas

1922: H. Ashton

1923: C.A.G. Russell

1934: M.S. Nichols

1939: K. Farnes

1947: T.P.B. Smith

1950: T.E. Bailey

1956: D.J. Insole

1972: B. Taylor

1974: K.D. Boyce

1974: K.W.R. Fletcher

1978: K.S. McEwan

1979: J.K. Lever

1980: G.A. Gooch

1987: J.H. Childs

1988: N.A. Foster

1991: M.E. Waugh

1998: S.G. Law

2003: N. Hussain

2012: A.N. Cook

2018: J.A. Porter

Brian Jeeves