Essex are heavily beaten by Warwickshire at Edgbaston

Warwickshire v Essex – LV=Insurance County Championship Division One – Edgbaston – Summary

Essex 168 and 323
Warwickshire 385 and 110/0
Essex won the toss and elected to bat
Warwickshire won by ten wickets

Essex suffered a heavy defeat against Warwickshire at Edgbaston despite a spirited second-innings performance with the bat, led by Simon Harmer.

Unfortunately, much of the damage had been done earlier in the contest. Tom Westley had provided something of a salvage operation, top-scoring for the visitors with 80 off 176 balls, steadying an Essex ship that was rapidly taking on water following a middle-order collapse.

Indeed, five wickets tumbled for just eleven runs. Danny Briggs led the way for the Warwickshire attack with 4/31, while Oliver Hannon-Dalby claimed 3/43 and Liam Norwell, 2/18 as Essex were dismissed for 168.

A quite brilliant knock of 170 from Michael Burgess has left Essex staring down the barrel. The wicketkeeper/batter helped the Bears establish a sizable 217-run advantage. After hitting 178 against Surrey a week previous, Burgess’ 283-minute stint in the middle yielded twenty 4s and five 6s, facing 217 balls.

Meanwhile, Matthew Lamb chipped in with 71 – Mark Steketee (4/130) and Sam Cook (3/72) the pick of the beleaguered Essex attack.

Faced with a sizable task, Harmer carried the fight with a dogged 75 off 156 balls, while Adam Rossington hit 52, Matt Critchley 49 and Dan Lawrence 44 as the visitors reached 323, establishing a fragile lead of 107.

Simon Harmer carried the fight with a dogged 75 off 156 balls (Essex CCC Media)

Warwickshire had little difficulty in reaching their target. Alex Davies finished unbeaten on 65 and Sibley 41* as the County Champions recorded a ten-wicket victory.

Essex return to LV=Insurance County Championship Division One action on Thursday, April 28/May 1 when Northamptonshire visit the Cloudfm County Ground (11am).

Warwickshire: Will Rhodes (Capt), Chris Benjamin, Danny Briggs, Henry Brookes, Michael Burgess (WK), Alex Davies, Sam Hain, Oliver Hannon-Dalby, Matt Lamb, Craig Miles, Liam Norwell, Dom Sibley, Rob Yates.

Essex: Tom Westley (Capt), Nick Browne, Alastair Cook, Sam Cook, Matt Critchley, Simon Harmer, Dan Lawrence, Jamie Porter, Adam Rossington, Shane Snater, Mark Steketee, Paul Walter, Adam Wheater (WK)

Officials: Richard Kettleborough, Neil Mallender and Philip Whitticase

Brian Jeeves