Essex roar to victory over Lancashire at Old Trafford

Lancashire v Essex – LV=Insurance County Championship Division One – Emirates Old Trafford – Summary

Essex 391 (120.5 overs)

Lancashire 103 and 232

Essex won the toss and elected to bat

Essex won by an innings and 56 runs

Essex moved up to fourth in the LV=Insurance County Championship Division One table after recording a crushing victory over much-fancied Lancashire at the Emirates Old Trafford.

Dan Lawrence returned to the action after injury, while Nick Browne made a timely return to form as Essex seized control of the contest during its infancy.

Lawrence hit a stylish 120 off 207 balls, while Browne’s 72 came off 156 and included ten boundaries.

Dan Lawrence hit a stylish 120 off 207 balls as Essex won handsomely at Old Trafford (Kieran Galvin ActionFotoSport)

Shane Snater continued to contribute handsomely. The Dutch international scored a quickfire 72 off 82 balls during his 115-minute stint at the crease as Essex posted 391 – Tom Bailey, with three for 61, the pick of the Lancashire attack.

Sam Cook, Jamie Porter and Snater then took centre stage with the ball. Cook claimed four Lancs wickets for 18, while Porter took 2/34 and Snater 2/22 as the home side were skittled for 103 and forced to follow on.

Sam Cook finished with match figures of 6/62 as Essex thrashed Lancashire at Old Trafford (Kieran Galvin ActionFotoSport)

Simon Harmer joined the party as Essex honed in on a sizable success. The South African off-break bowler finished with 5/91, while Cook, Porter and Snater topped up their respective accounts to confirm an Essex victory by an innings and 56 runs.

Essex Eagles now turn their attention to the T20 Vitality Blast where they face Kent Spitfires at the Spitfire Ground, Canterbury on Friday, May 27 (7pm).

Lancashire: Dane Vilas (Capt), James Anderson, Tom Bailey, George Balderson, Jack Blatherwick, Josh Bohannon, Steven Croft, Hassan Ali, Keaton Jennings, Matt Parkinson, Phil Salt (WK), Luke Wells, Luke Wood.

Essex: Tom Westley (Capt), Aaron Beard, Nick Browne, Alastair Cook, Sam Cook, Matt Critchley, Simon Harmer, Feroze Khushi, Dan Lawrence, Jamie Porter, Adam Rossington (WK), Shane Snater, Paul Walter

Umpires: PJ Hartley and SJ O’Shaughnessy

Scorers: C Rimmer and P Parkinson

Match Referee: J Whitaker

Brian Jeeves

Email: [email protected]