Essex seconds ease to victory over Surrey

Essex 2nd XI v Surrey 2nd XI – Second XI County Championship – Billericay CC – Summary

Surrey 2nd XI: 231 and 200 (84.2 overs)

Essex 2nd XI: 581/9 dec (170.4 overs)

Surrey 2nd XI won the toss and elected to bat

Essex 2nd XI won by an innings and 150 runs

The Essex second-string returned to action at Billericay and recorded a sizable Championship victory over a Surrey side which included England 2019 World Cup winner, Liam Plunkett.

Matt Quinn and Shane Snater starred with the ball – Quinn claiming 4/37, and 45 – Snater 3/36 as Surrey were dismissed for 231. Aaron Beard was also amongst the wickets, with 2/45 – BBA Geddis top-scoring for the visitors, hitting 68 off 160 deliveries, a knock which included ten boundaries. Meanwhile, Will Buttleman impressed with gloves taking four catches behind the stumps.

The home side took complete control with Varaum Chopra and Buttleman both reaching three figures. Chopra hit 109 off 205 deliveries, while wicketkeeper/batsman Buttleman reached 112 during his 338 minutes in the middle. 

Aaron Beard rattled 78, while Matt Pepper and Josh Rymell chipped in with 77 and 64 respectively before Essex made the declaration having amassed 581/9 – Daniel Moriarty with 4/159 as the Surrey attack were given plenty to think about. 

Essex got the job done, with Quinn taking his match figures to 7/85 and Snater 6/62. Skipper Ryan Patel offered some resistance with 74 off 147, while 

Connor McKerr was unbeaten on 58. But with those around them falling relatively cheaply, the result never really looked in doubt.

Essex returns to Second XI County Championship action on Monday, May 3/6 when Yorkshire are the visitors to Billericay Cricket Club in a fixture to be played behind closed doors.

Essex 2nd XI: MS Pepper (Capt), WEL Buttleman (WK), FIN Khushi, V Chopra, JS Rymell, RJ Das, ASS Nijjar, S Snater, JH Plom, AP Beard, MR Quinn, ES Kalley

Surrey 2nd XI: BBA Geddes, RS Patel (Capt), LJ Evans, NMJ Reifer, SW Mead (WK), WG Jacks, LE Plunkett, JPA Taylor, C McKerr, GS Ealham, J Broad, DT Moriarty

Umpires: RA White and GW Marshall

Scorers: AJ Thurogood and PJ Wolski


Brian Jeeves

Email: [email protected]