Essex slip to defeat in the Battle of the Bridge

Kent Spitfires v Essex Eagles – Vitality Blast T20 South Group – St Lawrence Ground, Canterbury – Summary

Essex Eagles 167/9 (20.0 overs)
Kent Spitfires 171/6 (19.4 overs)
Essex Eagles won the toss and elected to bat
Kent Spitfires won by four wickets

Essex’s recent mini T20 Vitality Blast Trophy south group revival was undone after Kent recorded a four-wicket victory at Canterbury with just two balls to spare.

Essex – off the back of wins over Sussex and Hampshire – posted a modest 167/9 with Ryan ten Doeschate leading the way, hitting 52 off 33 deliveries. Tom Westley chipped in with 39 – Fredrick Klaassen the pick of the Spitfires attack with 3/36.

Jack Plom did his utmost for the 2019 champions, taking 3/32. However, it was all to no avail. Jack Leaning’s unbeaten 55 off 32 carried Kent within sight – Grant Stewart, caring them over the line, hitting Plom over the ropes to conclude an otherwise close contest.

Kent Spitfires: Zak Crawley, Daniel Bell-Drummond, Joe Denly, Heino Kuhn, Sam Billings (Capt)(WK), Alex Blake, Jack Leaning, Grant Stewart, Matthew Milnes, Imran Qayyum, Fredrick Klaassen

Essex Eagles: Cameron Delport, Tom Westley, Dan Lawrence, Michael Pepper (WK), Ryan ten Doeschate, Paul Walter, Simon Harmer (Capt), Matthew Quinn, Jack Plom, Aron Nijjar, Sam Cook

Officials: Martin Saggers, Nigel Llong and Stephen Davis


Brian Jeeves

Email: [email protected]