Essex suffer a rare setback as Warwickshire win at Edgbaston

Warwickshire v Essex – LV Insurance County Championship – Edgbaston – Summary

Essex: 295 and 244

Warwickshire: 243/8 and 256/3

Essex won the toss and elected to bat

Warwickshire beat Essex by seven wickets

County Champions Essex slipped to a rear defeat as Warwickshire recorded a deserved seven-wicket success at Edgbaston.

Nick Browne, Paul Walter and Ryan ten Doeschate all hit half-centuries, while Alastair Cook scored 46 of 47 balls on what transpired into an evenly balanced opening day. Browne’s 68 included eleven boundaries, while Walter drove across the ropes a similar number of times for his 66 during his 167 minutes in the middle.

Warwickshire ensured maximum bowling points, with Olly Stone taking 4/89 and Oliver Hannon-Dalby 4/73 – Essex dismissed for 295.

The visitors’ established an eleven-run first-innings lead with Simon Harmer taking 4/89 and Peter Siddle 3/52 – Danny Briggs 66* and Matthew Lamb 47 top-scoring for the home side who then tipped the balance their way, reducing Essex to 25/4 before lunch on the third day.

Simon Harmer swapped leather for willow, hitting an unbeaten 82 to steady the ship – Dan Lawrence chipped in with 55 – Craig Miles with 4/70 for Warwickshire to set in a fascinating final day.

But it was the Bears who held their nerve and moved clear at the top of Group A. Set a target of 256, they squeezed home with eight balls to spare. Rob Yates led the way with a quite brilliant unbeaten 120 off 231 balls. Hanuma Vihari and Hanuma Vihari both hit half-centuries – Yates hitting across the rope to secure the victory.

Essex returns to LV Insurance County Championship action on Thursday, April 29/May 2 when they face Worcestershire at New Road (11am).

Warwickshire: WMH Rhodes (Capt), RM Yates, SR Hain, GH Vihari, MJ Lamb, MGK Burgess (WK), TT Bresnan, CN Miles, OP Stone, DR Briggs, OJ Hannon-Dalby

Essex: T Westley (Capt), AN Cook, NLJ Browne, DW Lawrence, PI Walter, RN ten Doeschate, AJA Wheater (WK), SR Harmer, PM Siddle, SJ Cook, JA Porter 

Umpires: M Burns and AG Wharf

Scorers: MD Smith and RJ Dickinson

Match Referee: SJ Davis

Brian Jeeves

Email: [email protected]