Essex to face Worcestershire in County Championship opener

Essex County Cricket Club will begin their defence of the Bob Willis Trophy by taking on Worcestershire at the Cloud FM County Ground.

The New Road club visits Chelmsford on Thursday, April 8-11, 2021, in the opening round of matches. Essex will then entertain Durham a week later.

The format will see the counties placed into one of three seeded groups of six, playing five home and away matches – the top two from each group progressing to Division One, the others into Divisions Two and Three where they will play a further four matches. The winner of Division One will be crowned the 2021 County Championship winners.

The opening round of Divisional Stage matches will get underway on the Bank Holiday Monday, August 30, with the five-day Bob Willis Trophy final will be played between Division One’s top two counties on Tuesday, September 27.

Essex’s Group One fixtures are as follows (Matches starting at 10:30am):

April 8-11 Worcestershire (H)
April15-18 Durham (H)
April 22-25 Warwickshire (A)
April 29-May 2 Worcestershire (A)
May 6-9 Nottinghamshire (A)

May 13-16 Derbyshire (H)
May 20-23 Warwickshire (H)
May 27-30 Durham (A)
June 3-6 Nottinghamshire (H)
July 11-14 Derbyshire (A)

Dates for the Divisional matches are as follows (Matches starting at 10:30am):

Sunday, August 30
Sunday, September 5
Sunday, September 12
Sunday, September 21


Brian Jeeves

Email: [email protected]