Essex’s title aspirations dented at Edgbaston

Warwickshire v Essex – Edgbaston – Specsavers County Championship Division One – Summary

Warwickshire 517(175.5 overs)
Essex 324 and 158/2 (55.0 overs)
Essex won the toss and elected to bowl – Match drawn

ESSEX’S Specsavers County Championship Division One title aspirations took a hit at Edgbaston, while hosts Warwickshire confirmed their own position at the top table ahead of the 2020 season.

Matthew Lamb’s superb 173 – a knock which included 25 boundaries – provided a platform for the home side, while Hain Sible and Patel all chipped in with half-centuries as Warwickshire posted a mammoth 517 – Simon Harmer the pick of a beleaguered Essex attack, taking 6/143.

Already seemingly faced with a ‘damage limitation’ operation, Tom Westley did his utmost to steady the Essex ship – the Cambridge-born right-hander reaching 141 before falling to an arrowed delivery from Henry Brookes. Nick Brown had also offered some form of resistance, scoring 65 and forging a useful third-wicket stand with Westley which gleened 106.

However, with those around them falling relatively cheaply, Essex fell short of the follow-on figure of 368. Faced with batting out the final day to salvage something from the contest, the visitors again turned to Westley. This time he fell three short of his century, while Alastair Cook’s unbeaten 57 as the game petered out towards a predictable conclusion.

For Essex, the damage was heightened what with chief title rivals, Somerset, thrashing Yorkshire to snaffle top spot. They will now almost certainly need to win each of their remaining two Championship fixtures, starting on Monday, September 16-19 when Surrey are the visitors to The Cloudfm County Ground (10:30am).

Warwickshire: Will Rhodes, Dominic Sibley, Liam Banks, Sam Hain, Matthew Lamb, Michael Burgess (WK), Ethan Brookes, Henry Brookes, Jeetan Patel (Capt), Oliver Hannon-Dalby, George Garrett

Essex: Nick Browne, Alastair Cook, Tom Westley, Dan Lawrence, Ravi Bopara, Ryan ten Doeschate (Capt), Adam Wheater (WK), Simon Harmer, Aaron Beard, Sam Cook, Jamie Porter

Umpires: Nicholas Cook and David Millns

Points: Warwickshire 10 Essex 9


Brian Jeeves

Email: [email protected]