GENERAL ELECTION: Havering remains blue

The Conservatives held the two constituencies in Havering, despite facing a national wipeout by the Labour Party.

The constituencies of Romford and Hornchurch & Upminster were among the few to stay blue.

Andrew Rosindell, first elected in 2001, held the Romford seat. with Labour second and Reform third.

Speaking on Friday morning, Mr Rosindell said he wanted to bring Reform UK – Nigel Farage’s right-wing party and the Tories together.

Data minister Julia Lopez enjoyed a similarly fruitful night. She was re-elected as the MP for Hornchurch & Upminster.

Pollsters were split on which way the Havering seats would swing heading into the election with some predicting that Mr Rosindell would keep his seat.

Chingford and Woodford Green, in the northeast, proved perhaps the fiercest battleground for the Tories in outer London.

Iain Duncan Smith held the seat, after the vote was split between Labour-candidate-turned-independent Faiza Shaheen and her replacement, Shama Tatler.

The full list of Romford candidates and their shares of the vote can be found below:

  • Andrew Rosindell (Conservative) – 15,339
  • Andrew Achilleos (Labour) – 13,876
  • Philip Hyde (Reform UK) – 9,624
  • David Hughes (Green) – 2,220
  • Thomas Clarke (Lib Dem) – 1,895
  • Zhafaran Qayum (Workers Party) – 898
  • Colin Birch (English Constitution Party) – 195

The full list of Hornchurch & Upminster candidates and their shares of the vote can be found below:

  • Julia Lopez (Conservative) – 15,260
  • Nick Palmer (Reform UK) – 13,317
  • Sunny Brar (Labour) – 12,939
  • Melanie Collins (Green) – 2,620
  • Ian Sanderson (Lib Dem) – 2,381
  • David Durant (Ind) – 394

Sebastian Mann

Local democracy reporter