Hadleigh & Thundersley slip to third as Wanstead win handsomely

Hadleigh & Thundersley 1st v Wanstead & Snaresbrook 1st – Hamro Foundation Essex League Premier Division – John Burrows Park – Summary

Wanstead & Snaresbrook 243 (61.2 overs)

Hadleigh & Thundersley 143 (42.5 overs)

Wanstead & Snaresbrook won the toss and elected to bat

Wanstead & Snaresbrook won by 100 runs

Wanstead & Snaresbrook leapfrogged Hadleigh & Thundersley into second place after recording a comprehensive 100-run victory at John Burrows Park.

The East Londoners posted 243, with Eshun Kalley hitting 54 and Jonathan Das 42, helping them recover from 78/6 – Richard Revell (3/44) and Louis Poynter (3/45) the pick of the Hadleigh attack.

The home sides’ response never gathered sufficient momentum. Adam Soilleux scored 45 and Sam Handley 35. However, 4/31 from Joe Ellis-Grewal and Jahansher Akbar’s 3/13 ensured a conclusive triumph for the Overton Drive outfit.

Hadleigh & Thundersley 1st: A Dobson (Capt), A Bennett, A Forbes, S Handley, L Poynter, R Revell, L Smith, O Smith, P Tibbenham, D Vapiwala, H Zaidi

Wanstead & Snaresbrook 1st: Tom Simmons, Hassan Chowdhury, Robin Das, Kishen Velani, Bilal Patel, Naivedyam Dwivedi, Joe Ellis-Grewal, Eshun Kalley, Jonathan Das, Zain Shahzad, Jahansher Akbar

Points: Hadleigh & Thundersley 5 Wanstead & Snaresbrook 25

Brian Jeeves

Email: [email protected]