Handy Harmer leads Eagles to the final

Essex Eagles v Derbyshire Falcons – Vitality Blast semi-final – Summary

Essex Eagles 160/5 (20.0 overs)
Derbyshire Falcons126 (18.4 overs)
Essex Eagles won the toss and elected to bat
Essex Eagles won by 34 runs

SIMON HARMER provided some magic with the ball as Essex Eagles saw off Derbyshire Falcons to set up a Vitality Blast final clash with Worcestershire Rapids later this evening.

Having snapped up the opportunity to bat, Essex moved along comfortably with Cameron Delport reaching 55 off 30 deliveries before falling to a delivery from Alex Hughes – Luis Reece the man in the field displaying a safe pair of hands.

Tom Westley reached 39 before hooking Reece to Leus du Plooy, while Ravi Bopara’s 23-ball stint was extinguished after he carelessly flipped Ravi Rampaul to Reece for 27.

Adam Wheater was still in the middle at the midway point on 20* – Essex posting a competitive 160/5 on what appeared to be a tricky track – Hughes and Reece with identical figures of 2/24, keeping the Falcons in contention.

But that proved to be as good as it got for Derbyshire. Skipper, Harmer, produced a quite delightful spell, overseeing the dismissals of Billy Godleman, du Plooy, Dal and Smit leading the Eagles charge to the final with impressive figures of 4/19.

Aaron Nijjar was also in the mood, claiming 3/26 – Hughes top-scoring for deflated Derbyshire with 23.

Earlier in the day, Worcestershire Rapids had booked their final berth with a dramatic last-ball victory over Notts Outlaws, this despite a stylish 50 from Alex Hales and an unbeaten 49 from Ben Duckett. Whitley (36) and Wessels (34) top-scored for the Rapids.

Essex Eagles v Worcestershire Rapids is scheduled to start at 6:45pm.

Essex Eagles: Tom Westley, Cameron Delport, Adam Wheater (WK), Dan Lawrence, Ryan ten Doeschate, Ravi Bopara, Paul Walter, Simon Harmer (Capt), Aron Nijjar, Aaron Beard, Jamie Porter

Derbyshire Falcons: Billy Godleman (Capt), Luis Reece, Wayne Madsen, Leus du Plooy, Fynn Hudson-Prentice, Alex Hughes, Anuj Dal, Daryn Smit (WK), Matthew Critchley, Logan van Beek, Ravi Rampaul

Umpires/Officials: Martin Saggers, David Millns, Robert Bailey, Alexander Wharf


Brian Jeeves

Email: [email protected]