Harmer and Porter hand Essex a substantial grip

Essex v Surrey – The Bob Willis Trophy – Day Two – Cloudfm County Ground, Chelmsford – Close

Essex 262 and 13/0 (4.0 overs)

Surrey 187 (75.3 overs)

Essex won the toss and elected to bat

Essex lead Surrey by 88 runs with ten wickets remaining

Simon Harmer and Jamie Porter knocked over Surrey to leave Essex in a strong position on day two of their Bob Willis Trophy encounter at Chelmsford.

Resuming their overnight tally of 253/7, Essex added just a further nine runs before Surrey – led by Rikki Clarke – polished off the tail, taking his first-innings figures to 3/21.

Runs had been difficult to come by on the opening day, although Feroze Khushi and Adam Wheater both passed fifty for Essex, while Sir Alastair Cook chipped in with 42.

Sam Cook immediately got to work with the ball, claiming Ryan Patel and Scott Borthwick off successive balls leaving the visitors foundering on 1/2. And despite 70 off 185 balls from Will Jacks and 41 from 98 by Laurie Evans, the pace and precision supplied by the Essex duo proved far too much for the Surrey batting order.

Harmer claimed finished the day with 6/67 while Porter got in on the act with 4/53 – It was the eighteenth time Harmer had claimed five first-class wickets for Essex – he has now claimed 229 victims since arriving at the county three years ago.

James Taylor and Amar Virdi stubbornly dug in, frustrating the hosts with a tenth wicket stand of 18 across ten overs. But having established a first-innings lead of 75, Nick Browne and former England skipper Cook negotiated the final four overs of a hugely satisfying day for the County Champions.

Play resumes on Monday at 11am.

Essex: Alastair Cook, Nick Browne, Tom Westley (Capt), Varun Chopra, Feroze Khushi, Paul Walter, Adam Wheater (WK), Simon Harmer, Sam Cook, Jamie Porter, Aaron Beard

Surrey: Mark Stoneman (Capt), Ryan Patel, Scott Borthwick, Will Jacks, Jamie Smith (WK), Laurie Evans, Rikki Clarke, Gus Atkinson, Adam Finch, James Taylor, Amar Virdi

Umpires: BJ Debenham and CM Watts

Scorers: AE Choat and PJ Wolski

Match Referee: Peter Such


Brian Jeeves

Email: [email protected]