Hassan is the hero for winners Westcliff

Brian Jeeves

Benfleet 1st v Westcliff On Sea 1st – First XI Division – Woodside Park – Report

Benfleet 1st 171 (49.4 overs)

Westcliff On Sea 1st 174/7 (41.4overs)

Benfleet 1st won the toss and elected to bat

Westcliff On Sea 1st won by three wickets

Hammad Ul Hassan’s unbeaten 80 paved the way to Westcliff On Sea’s three-wicket victory at Benfleet.

Hassan’s knock included eleven boundaries, helping Westcliff chase down a target of 171 set by Benfleet.

Earlier, David Jarrett scored 44 and Sean Pritchard 41 for the home side. Hassan was equally successful with the ball, returning impressive figures of four for 48 for the victors.

Benfleet 1st: Sam Rowe (Capt), Andy Jarrett (WK), Andrew Brunning, Callum Wheeler, David Jarrett, Fayaz Khan Nasseri, Gavin Blowes, Ray Gipson, Ross Casson, Sean Pritchard, Taylor Casson

Westcliff On Sea 1st: Charlie Lockhart, Peter Barnes, Finlay Mackay, Hammad Ul Hassan, Alexander Portugal, Akashdeep Singh, Prin Patel, Lewis Groves (WK)(Capt), Robert Pinkerton, Tom Baker, Adnan Khan 

Brian Jeeves

Email: sport@yellowad.co.uk