Hornchurch add to Billericay’s woes

Billericay 1st v Hornchurch 1st – Hamro Essex League Premier Division – Blunts Wall Road – Summary

Billericay 82 (40.2 overs)

Hornchurch 83/5 (18.2 overs)

Billericay won the toss and elected to bat

Hornchurch won by five wickets

Billericay remained rooted to the bottom of the Premier Division table after Hornchurch won this low scoring affair at Blunts Wall Road.

Having elected to bat, Billericay’s fragile confidence was highlighted as the Hornchurch attack tore into action. Adeel Malik took 4/11, while Muhammad Irfan finished with 4/18 as teh hosts were emphatically knocked over for just 82. 

Matthew Bell scored 32 for Billericay, while Nathan Khelawon reached 24 – only four other home batsmen got off the mark, none reaching double figures.

Hornchurch made slightly heavy weather of the chase. Andy Smith took 3/36 and Rob Rayner 2/47. However, turning the contest on its head was always going to be a tall order. 

Former Essex man, Merv Westfield kept his nerve and finished unbeaten on 25 to see Hornchurch home inside nineteen overs.

Billericay 1st: Andy Smith (Capt), Nathan Khelawon, Kieran Emmanuel,

Matt Bell, David Houghton, Rehman Ahmed, Ross Poulton, Lou Hawes, Oscar Harmer, Olly Sarker, Rob Rayner

Hornchurch: Jamie Sorrell, Ronnie Saunders, Chris Sains, Ahsan Freed, Merv Westfield, Muhammad Irfan, Adeel Malik, Paul Murray JNR, Billy Gordon, Jermaine Shillingford, Marc Whitlock

Points: Billericay 2 Hornchurch 20


Brian Jeeves

Email: [email protected]