Houghton the hammer hits 111

Billericay 1st v Wickford 1st – First XI Division One – Blunts Wall Road – Report

Billericay 1st 302/6 (50.0 overs)

Wickford 1st 284 (48.3 overs)

Wickford won the toss and elected to bowl

Billericay won by 18 runs

David Houghton provided the fireworks as Billericay won this close encounter with Wickford at Blunts Wall Road.

Houghton hit an unbeaten 111 off just 82 balls, an innings that included fourteen 4s and one 6. Opening batter, Grant Roelofsen was also in explosive form, scoring 76 off 79, while wicketkeeper/batter, Rowan Elliott chipped in with a half-century as Billericay posted a sizable 302/6. Dean Etchells and Andrew Metcalfe each taking two wickets for the visitors.

Huzaifa Umer scored 61 off 79, while Anthony McKenna hit 44 and Adam Deller 39 as Wickford did their utmost to keep up with the run rate. However, Andy Smith went some way to securing a Billericay victory, returning figures of five for 43 from his ten overs with the ball.

Billericay 1st: Arjun Bhardwaj, Grant Roelofsen, Saurav Prabhakar, Matthew Bell, Rowan Elliott (WK), David Houghton, William Dale, Lee Knight, Andy Smith, Ross Poulton (Capt), Aryan Malik

Wickford 1st: C. Westwood (Capt)(WK), S. Botrill, B. Corps, P. Corps, A. Deller, D. Etchells, L. Grimes, A. Mckenna, A. Metcalfe, H. Umer, G. Wright

Brian Jeeves

Email: [email protected]