Lawrence’ half-century helps Essex to four out of five

Essex Eagles v Glamorgan – T20 Vitality Blast – Cloudfm County Ground, Chelmsford – Summary

Glamorgan 104 (17.0 overs)

Essex Eagles 108/2 (12.2 overs)

Glamorgan won the toss and elected to bat

Essex Eagles won by eight wickets

It’s now four T20 Vitality Blast wins out of five for the Essex Eagles as Dan Lawrence hit a half-century to complement sterling work with the ball and in the field, particularly from Jack Plom, Simon Harmer and Sam Cook.

Essex made short work of the Glamorgan batting order. Plom took 2/16 as well as displaying a remarkably accurate arm to send back David Lloyd following an outrageous run-out.

Sam Cook finished with figures of 2/22 (Kieran Galvin ActionFotoSport)

Harmer weighed in with 2/21 and Cook 2/22 as the Welshmen were sent packing in seventeen overs for 104, three wickets falling in their last over. Skipper Cooke top-scored with 25, Lloyd and Billy Root each chipping in with 21.

Simon Harmer took 2/21 as Essex Eages thrashed Glamorgan

Despite the early dismissal of Will Buttleman – trapped by Roman Walker for 6 – Glamorgan were never really in the contest.

Lawrence and Adam Wheater compiled a second-wicket partnership of 70 – the latter departing off a stumping from Cooke off a delivery by Andrew Salter. His 39 coming from 33 balls and including five boundaries.

Lawrence continued to motor, finishing unbeaten on 55 (five 4s and three 6s) to see the home side comfortably over the line. The visitors’ task wasn’t helped by a plethora of COVID withdrawals as well as Prem Sisodiya pulling up in the warm-up and ultimately missing out. 

The result kept Essex in contention to qualify for the next stage. They return to T20 Vitality Blast action on Friday, July 9 when they face Sussex Sharks at The 1st Central County Ground, Hove (7pm).

Essex Eagles: WEL Buttleman, AJA Wheater (WK), DW Lawrence, MS Pepper, JDS Neesham, RN ten Doeschate, PI Walter, SR Harmer (Capt), ASS Nijjar, JH Plom, SJ Cook

Glamorgan: KS Carlson, DL Lloyd, CA Ingram, CB Cooke (Capt) (WK), WT Root, DA Douthwaite, WJ Weighell, SJ Pearce, AG Salter, RI Walker, CZ Taylor

Umpires: NA Mallender and M Newell

Scorers: AE Choat and P Parkinson

Match Referee: PM Such

Brian Jeeves

Email: [email protected]