Leigh back in the promotion shake-up after a big win over Old Parks

Old Parkonians 1st v Leigh On Sea 1st – Hamro Foundation Essex League (First XI Division Two) – Forest Road, Ilford – Summary

Leigh On Sea 188 (49.4 overs)
Old Parkonians 97 (39.1 overs)
Old Parkonians won the toss and elected to bat
Leigh On Sea won by 91 runs

Leigh On Sea continued their recent revival and moved within touching distance of the promotion places after recording a comfortable 91 run triumph at Forest Road.

Joe Sexton led the charge with 79, while Oliver Wagstaff (36) and Dean Waller (23) chipped in as Leigh reached 188 – Selvam Ramasamy the pick of the Old Parks attack with 5/42, while Ravi Teja Dwaraka Bhadmidipati claimed 3/63.

And that proved more than enough for the Chalkwell Park outfit. Tj Bailey finished with 4/12 and James Spencer 4/28 as the Leigh bowlers made short work of the hosts batting order. Skipper Paran Kalley top-scored with 21, but the target was always out of reach. Leigh On Sea moved up to third place as a result.

Old Parkonians: Raihan Hussain, Shane Vamadevan, Janagan Vijayanathan, Ravi Teja Dwaraka Bhadmidipati, Paresh Kalley, Paran Kalley, Sifth Ali, Selvam Ramasamy, Sahil Handa, Mitkumar Patel, Anujan Thiru

Leigh On Sea: Tim Knox (Capt), Jon Edwards, Matt Wagstaff, Iain McDonald, Oliver Wagstaff, Joe Sexton, Greg Hammond, Kev Sargent (WK), TJ Bailey, James Spencer, Dean Waller

Points: Old Parkonians 4 Leigh On Sea 25


Brian Jeeves

Email: [email protected]