LOCAL ELECTIONS: Epping Forest District Council candidates

Every seat is being contested at Epping Forest District Council – with a reduction in number of councillors returning.

Following a review by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) of the ward arrangements in the borough, the whole council is being elected. residents should be represented by 54 councillors. This is four fewer than the current arrangements.

There will be 18 wards represented by 3 councillors each. Most of the existing wards will change, but one will remain the same; Buckhurst Hill West.

The council is currently run by the Tories. The current political composition of Epping Forest District Council has them with 34 seats, the Loughton Residents Association with 13, the Liberal Democrats with six, independents with three and the Green Party with two.

Local elections will be held on Thursday, May 2. Borough council elections will be combined with the election of a Police, Fire and Crime Commissioner for the Essex Police Area.

Buckhurst Hill East and Whitebridge

  • Dewole Aradeon, The Green Party
  • Jane Bagshaw, Conservative
  • Rose Brookes, Independent Loughton Residents Association
  • Ben Brown, Independent
  • Barbara Cohen, Independent Loughton Residents Association
  • Elizabeth Gabbett, The Green Party
  • Chris Kent, Independent Loughton Residents Association
  • Alain Laviolette, Labour 
  • Alexia Sparrow, Conservative
  • Marshall Vance, Conservative

Buckhurst Hill West

  • Bob Church, Conservative
  • Rebecca Fricker, The Green Party
  • Tom Kasperkowicz, Labour
  • Ishvinder Matharu, Liberal Democrats
  • Lyubka Mihailova, Independent
  • Smruti Patel, Conservative
  • Kathryn Radley, The Green Party
  • Ken Williamson, Conservative

Chigwell with Lambourne

  • Tony Casaluci, Labour
  • Shahzad Malik, Independent
  • Craig Mccann, Conservative
  • Kaz Rizvi, Conservative
  • Darshan Sunger, Conservative

Epping East

  • James Abbott, Conservative
  • Edward Barnard, Liberal Democrats 
  • Cherry McCredie, Independent 
  • Ian Roberts, Conservative
  • Paul Thomas, Labour Party 
  • Mari-Louise Whitbread, Conservative
  • Janet Whitehouse, Liberal Democrats 
  • Jon Whitehouse, Liberal Democrats

Epping West and Rural

  • Nigel Avey, Independent
  • Mandy George, Liberal Democrats
  • Andy Green, Conservative
  • Peter Murray, Conservative
  • Razia Sharif, Liberal Democrats 
  • Elaine Thatcher, Liberal Democrats 
  • Sean Voitov, Labour
  • Holly Whitbread, Conservative

Grange Hill

  • Osman Ali, Conservative
  • Alana Aradeon, Independent
  • Angela Ayre, Labour
  • Rashni Chahal Holden, Conservative
  • Steve Hume, Liberal Democrats
  • Alan Lion, Conservative
  • Lisa Morgan, Independent
  • Debby Rye, Independent

Loughton Fairmead

  • Arash Ardakani, Independent Loughton Residents Association
  • Will Kauffman, Independent Loughton Residents Association
  • Louise Mead, Independent Loughton Residents Association
  • Bobby Nagpal, Conservative
  • Gareth Rawlings, Labour
  • Alastair Smith, Labour

Loughton Fairmead

  • Ian Allgood, Independent Loughton Residents Association
  • Roger Baldwin, Independent Loughton Residents Association
  • Naomi Davies, Liberal Democrats
  • Tom Draper, Labour
  • Katharine Hawes, Conservative
  • Scott Jones, Trade Unionist And Socialist Coalition
  • Sarah Metcalfe, Conservative
  • Michael Owen, Independent Loughton Residents Association
  • Jan Ridding, Conservative

Loughton Roding

  • Malachi Fontenelle, Independent
  • Stephen Murray, Independent
  • Chidi Nweke, Independent Loughton Residents Association
  • Tim Parry, Conservative
  • Sheree Rackham, Independent Loughton Residents Association
  • Debbie Wild, Labour

Loughton St John`s

  • Howard Kauffman, Independent Loughton Residents Association
  • Valerie Metcalfe, Conservative
  • Chris Pond, Independent Loughton Residents Association
  • Emma Roberts, Labour
  • Graham Wiskin, Independent Loughton Residents Association

North Weald Bassett

  • Nigel Bedford, Conservative
  • Tom Bromwich, Independent
  • Les Burrows, Conservative
  • Kevin Hind, Labour
  • Les Mills, Conservative
  • Paul Stockton, Labour


  • Mary Dadd, Conservative
  • Ronald Huish, Labour
  • Paul Keska, Conservative
  • Jaymey Mcivor, Conservative
  • Monica Richardson, Liberal Democrats 
  • Timothy White, Labour
  • Alison Wingfield, Labour

Roydon and Lower Nazeing

  • Richard Bassett, Conservative
  • Martin Harvey, UK Independence Party (UKIP)
  • Alex Kyriacou, Labour And Cooperative Party
  • Ronda Pugsley, Conservative
  • Chris Whitbread, Conservative

Rural East

  • Ray Balcombe, Conservative
  • Peter Bell, Reform UK
  • Ian Hadley, Conservative
  • Ann Huish, Labour
  • Richard Morgan, Conservative
  • Lesley Paine, Liberal Democrats
  • Bijal Pattani, Liberal Democrats
  • Robin Tilbrook, English Democrats

Theydon Bois and Passingford

  • Clive Amos, Liberal Democrats
  • Heather Brady, Conservative
  • Christine Burgess, Independent
  • Tippy Cornish, Liberal Democrats
  • Richard Griffiths, Liberal Democrats
  • Sue Jones, Conservative
  • Christine Mortimer, Labour

Piers Meyler

Local Democracy Reporter