Local elections: Where to vote in Rochford

Council decision makers across Essex are hoping to hang on to power as residents go to the polls on May 5. Rochford will be electing a third of its members this year, and the candidates who will be fighting for seats in 14 wards.

Each of the polling stations for each ward are open from 7am until 10pm on the day of polling. People eligible to vote should cast their ballot at a specific polling station depending where they live.

The council is currently controlled by the Conservatives but that may change if enough seats swing to opposition parties. These include candidates from Labour and the Lib Dems as well as independents.

The full list of polling stations is listed below.

Downhall & Rawreth

  • Rayleigh Scout Hut, The Birches, Priory Chase, Rayleigh
  • Rawreth Village Hall, Church Road, Rawreth
  • Pope John Paul 2 Hall, London Road, Rayleigh

Foulness & The Wakerings

  • Heritage Centre, Foulness Island
  • Great Wakering Memorial Hall, Great Wakering
  • The West Hall, The Community Centre, Great Wakering
  • United Methodist Church Hall, High Street, Great Wakering

Hawkwell East

  • Ashingdon Elim Pentecostal Church, Ashingdon
  • Hawkwell Baptist Church, Rectory Road, Hawkwell
  • Parish Centre, St Teresa of the Child Jesus, Ashingdon Road, Ashingdon

Hawkwell West

  • Hawkwell Baptist Church, Rectory Road, Hawkwell
  • Village Hall, Main Road, Hawkwell


  • The Old Fire Station, Southend Road, Hockley
  • Hockley Public Hall, Bullwood Road, Hockley

Hockley & Ashingdon

  • Ashingdon & East Hawkwell Memorial Hall, Ashingdon Road, Ashingdon
  • Ashingdon United Free Church, Fambridge Road, Ashingdon
  • Greensward Academy, Hockley


  • St. Thomas of Canterbury Church, Thorpedene Avenue, Hullbridge
  • Site Office, Hockley Park, Lower Road, Hockley
  • Hullbridge Free Church, Lower Road, Hullbridge


  • Oaktree Family Hub, Grovewood Primary School, Rayleigh
  • Wesley Room, Methodist Church Hall, Rayleigh

Roche North & Rural

  • Canewdon Village Hall, Canewdon
  • Mission Hall, Paglesham
  • Stambridge Memorial Hall, Stambridge
  • Rochford Congregational Church, North Street, Rochford
  • Waterman Primary School, Rochford
  • Rochford Parish Centre, St Teresa of the Child Jesus, Ashingdon Road

Roche South

  • All Saints Church, Barling
  • The Red Brick Barn, Shopland Road, Rochford
  • Marquee in Field, Opposite 115 Southend Road, Rochford
  • Rochford Congregational Church, North Street, Rochford
  • Rochford Parish Council Rooms, Rear of 82 West Street, Rochford

Sweyne Park & Grange

  • Grange Free Church, Rayleigh
  • The Travellers Joy, Rayleigh
  • Grange Community Centre, Little Wheatley Chase, Rayleigh


  • Rayleigh Parish Centre, Rectory Garth, Rayleigh
  • Methodist Church Hall, Eastwood Road, Rayleigh


  •  Women’s Institute, Bellingham Lane, Rayleigh
  • Salvation Army Junior Hall, High Street, Rayleigh
  • Rayleigh Elim Church, 23 Castle Road, Rayleigh

Piers Meyler

Local Democracy Reporter