McGregor fires Colchester and East Essex to a big win at Hadleigh & Thundersley

Hadleigh & Thundersley 1st v Colchester and East Essex 1st – Hamro Fondation Essex League (First XI Premier League) – Johns Burrows Park – Summary

Colchester and East Essex 250 (63.5 overs)
Hadleigh & Thundersley 79 (22.2 overs)
Colchester and East Essex won the toss and elected to bat
Colchester and East Essex won by 171 runs

Colchester and East Essex ruthlessly inflicted a heavy defeat upon Hadleigh & Thundersley at John Burrows Park.

Joe MacGregor provided the fireworks, hitting an unbeaten 145 off 184 balls – a knock which included nine 4s and eight 6s. Sam Handley took 4/58, while Oliver Smith chipped in with 3/38 for the home side.

Nevertheless, the Colchester attack then took centre stage and made short work of the hosts batting order. Vikas Agarwal claimed 6/31 and Charlie Watts 3/20 to secure a huge 171-run victory – Haider Ali Syed Zaidi unbeaten on sixteen, top-scoring for the well-beaten home side.

Hadleigh & Thundersley: Darius Vapiwala, Paul Tibbenham, Samuel Handley, Adam Forbes, Oliver Smith, Jack Wagstaff, Luke Smith, Ashley Bennett, Haider Ali Syed Zaidi, Adam Dobson, Richard Revell

Colchester and East Essex: Joe MacGregor, Ben Robinson, Dan Wolf, Simon Fernandes, Charlie Fernandes, Jack Hobbs, Keir Young, Darren Eckford, George Offord, Charlie Watts, Vikas Agarwal

Points: Hadleigh & Thundersley 4 Colchester and East Essex 25


Brian Jeeves

Email: [email protected]