New Southend City Council administration appointed

Mick Ferris

A new administration has been appointed to lead Southend-on-Sea City Council after being voted in at full council on Monday evening.

At the recent local elections, no party gained the required majority to lead the council outright. However, the Labour Party has 20 seats and have formed a joint administration with the Independent and Liberal Democrat groups.

Councillor Daniel Cowan is therefore the new leader of the council and after appointing his cabinet at the meeting, said: “I am honoured to be the new leader of the council and along with my new cabinet look forward to serving the residents and businesses of the great City of Southend-on-Sea.

“We all want the best for our city and this new administration under my leadership will work hard to ensure that we provide stability to the council and move forwards in the best interests of residents, businesses and visitors.”

The new cabinet is as follows:

  • Cllr Daniel Cowan, leader of the council and cabinet member for infrastructure and corporate strategy
  • Cllr Anne Jones, deputy leader of the council and cabinet member for planning and housing
  • Cllr Laurie Burton, cabinet member for children, young people and SEND
  • Cllr Ian Gilbert, cabinet member for regeneration, major projects, and regulatory services
  • Cllr Matt Dent, cabinet member for culture, tourism, and business
  • Cllr Lydia Hyde, cabinet member for climate, environment, and waste
  • Cllr Maxine Sadza, cabinet member for social care and healthier communities
  • Cllr Paul Collins, cabinet member for finance, assets and investments
  • Cllr Martin Terry, cabinet member for community safety

Appointments to the various committees were also formally agreed.

Mick Ferris

Editor Email: