New Zealand beaten in Chelmsford Test warm-up 

County Select XI v New Zealand – Four-Day Friendly Match – Cloud County Ground, Chelmsford – Summary

New Zealand 362/9 dec and 148

County Select XI 247 and 264/3

New Zealand won the toss and elected to bat

County Select XI won by seven wickets

The New Zealand tourists suffered a seven-wicket defeat against a Country Select XI at Chelmsford in their final warm-up match before the forthcoming Test series with England.

Kent’s Ben Compton carried the County side towards victory with a superb 119 off 262 balls after his side had set themselves 264 to win having bowled the tourists out for 148 in their second innings.

It had all started quite brightly for New Zealand. Daryl Mitchell, Matt Henry and Cam Fletcher each scored half-centuries before the visitors declared on 362/9.

The Kiwi attack also appeared in the mood. Ajaz Patel claimed three for 32 from his sixteen overs, while Kyle Jamieson and Blair Tickner took two apiece. The County side dismissed for 247.

Essex’s Jamie Porter then took centre stage. The Leytonstone-born right-arm medium-fast bowler returned figures of five for 31 from ten overs as the New Zealanders were bowled out in their second innings for 148.

Worcestershire’s Ben Gibbon also impressed with the ball, taking 3/36, including Neil Wagner and Kyle Jamieson, who each scored 36 for the visitors.

Hampshire’s Nick Gubbins complimented Compton with an unbeaten 67 during 161 minutes at the crease, confirming a sizable success for the County XI and leaving the tourist with plenty to think about ahead of Thursday’s first Test at Lord’s.

County Select XI (from): Jack Blatherwick (Lancashire), Michael Burgess (Warwickshire), Ben Compton (Kent), Ben Gibbon (Worcestershire), Nick Gubbins (Hampshire), Tom Haines (Sussex), Lyndon James (Nottinghamshire), Ryan Patel (Surrey), Liam Patterson-White (Nottinghamshire), Jamie Porter (Essex), Ollie Robinson (Sussex), Dom Sibley (Warwickshire)

New Zealand (from): Kane Williamson (Capt), Tom Blundell (WK), Trent Boult, Michael Bracewell, Devon Conway, Colin de Grandhomme, Jacob Duffy, Fletcher, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Rachin Ravindra, Hamish Rutherford, Tim Southee, Blair Tickner, Neil Wagner, Will Young

Umpires: BJ Debenham and RA White

Scorers: AE Choat and AJ Thurogood

Match Referee: S Cummings


Brian Jeeves

Email: [email protected]