O’s held by Saddlers

Leyton Orient 0-0 Walsall

Kenny Jackett’s O’s early season promotion push is fast fading after running up against a Walsall brick wall, on Saturday.

A scrappy encounter, saw the lowly visitors barely give the East Londoners a kick – but as early as four minutes, Theo Archibald had too much time and space – close to the Saddlers’ bye-line – but chose the wrong option.

Walsall – on the contrary – dominated and George Miller should have done better with a 17th minute header – but allowed Lawrence Vigouroux an easy catch.

The Saddlers kept up the pressure, after the turnaround, and were unfnate not to steal all three points, with skipper, Joss Ladabie denied by a superb Shad Ogie clearance, before Vigouroux did well to deny playmaker, Jack Earing.

Orient failed to force visiting keeper, Carl Rushworth into a single save, with second half sub., Paul Smyth having only their sole on-target effort, in the closing stages.

Jackett admitted: “We didn’t create our usual amount of chances and we lacked cohesion in the final third. Neither, did we work their keeper enough and our final pass let us down.”

“And, it was the other end that kept us in the game. But, Walsall were sharp in midfield. And, at least we kept another clean sheet. However, we needed to be a lot better.”

Opposing boss, Matthew Taylor said: “It’s a hard place to come to. But, after Orient pressed us, in the opening ten minutes, we did well.”

He added: “We created chances, but the final ball was either under hit or over hit. However, it was a good away performance”.

Fit again, Paul Smyth said: “I’m feeling really good – now – and I’m hoping we get promoted – that’s why I came here”.

With the league leaders next up, on Tuesday (kick-off 7-45pm), Smyth added: “Forest Green are Forest Green and we’ll have to find a way of breaking them down.”

After Forest Green, Orient travel to Stevenage next Saturday (kick-off 3pm).

Leyton Orient: Lawrence Vigouroux, Connor Wood (Craig Clay 46), Omar Beckles, Alex Mitchell, Shad Ogie, Tom James, Hector Kyprianou, Darren Pratley (captain), Ruel Sotirou (Paul Smyth 46), Theo Archibald (Dan Kemp 72), Harry Smith. Subs: Rhys Byrne (gk), Dan Happe, Tyrese Omotoye.

Walsall: Carl Rushworth, Hayden White, Manny Monte, Rollin Menavese, Stephen Ward, Jack Earing,  Joss Ladabie (captain), Emmanuel Osadebe, Kieran Phillips (Tyrese  Shade 60), Brendan Kieran, George Miller. Subs: Jack Rose (gk), Conor Wilkinson, Alfie Bates, Tom Leak. Sam Perry, Mat Sadler.

Referee: Ollie Yates

Assistant Referees: Andrew Laver, Andy Bennett

Fourth Official: Paul Kelly

Attendance: 5,826


Rowland Lyons

Email: [email protected]