O’s up to third after thrashing Latics

Leyton Orient 4-0 Oldham Athletic

Kenny Jackett’s O’s got back to winning ways with an ultimately comfortable win, last Saturday, with Aaron Drinan, Tom James, Theo Archibald and Harry Smith strike’s rubbing salt into troubled Oldham’s wounds.

Despite heavy, early Latics’ pressure, Drinan was in the right place at the right time to tap home the unselfish Theo Archibald’s 16th-minute square ball, after breaking the length of the field from Faysal Bettache’s cleared flag-kick.

Orient began to grow into this contest and doubled their lead, ten minutes later, when all-action skipper, Darren Pratley’s brave halfway interception fell invitingly for James to sprint all of 50 yards, and coolly slot past the floundering Jayson Leutwiler.

But, despite their lowly league standing – and a large away fans’ contingent protesting about their unhappiness with their club’s owner – the Latics refused to throw in the towel, and having failed to clear Faysal Bettache’s 39th-minute corner, Jamie Bowden let fly, from 25 yards, with Lawrence Vigouroux requiring two attempts to gather cleanly, under pressure from Hallam Hope.

Hope kept the East Londoners’ defence on their toes, as they seemed content to sit on their lead, and fired a 56th-minute effort curling just wide, before bringing fine out another fine Vigouroux save.

Having barely threatened the visiting defence, after the interval, Athletic’s sloppiness, coupled with Archibald’s persistence saw the points wrapped up fifteen minutes from time, when the wide-man’s angled drive crept under Leutwiler.

Smith then added insult to injury with a close-range, stoppage-time header.

Leyton Orient face Southampton under 21 at the Breyer Group Stadium on Tuesday, September 14 in the Papa John’s Trophy. They return to Sky Bet League Two action on Saturday 18 when they take on Bristol Rovers at the Memorial Ground (3pm).

Leyton Orient: Lawrence Vigouroux, Connor Wood, Omar Beckles, Alex Mitchell, Dan Happe, Tom James, Craig Clay, Darren Pratley (Capt) (Hector Kyprianou 68′), Theo Archibald (Dan Kemp 90′), Aaron Drinan (Ruel Sotiriou 90′), Harry Smith Subs not used: Rhys Byrne (GK), Tyrese Omotoye, Antony Papadopoulos, Jayden Sweeney

Oldham Athletic: Jayson Leutwiler, Dylan Fage (Vani da Silva 85′), Jordan Clarke, Carl Piergianni (Capt), Kyle Jameson, Raphael Diarra, Nicky Adams (Harry Vaughan 46′), Jamie Bowden, Faysal Bettache (Zak Dearnley 78′), Hallam Hope, Davis Keillor-Dunn Subs not used: Kacper Danielewicz (GK), Callum Whelan, Junior Luamba, Benny Couto

Referee: Ben Toner
Assistants: Graham Fyvie and Kevin Howick
Fourth Official: Stephen Brown

Attendance: 5,315


Rowland Lyons

Email: [email protected]