Ram raid!

Derby County v Leyton Orient – Sky Bet League One – Pride Park – Report

Derby County 3-0 Leyton Orient 

Derby County kept their bid for automatic promotion from Sky Bet League One on track with a 3-0 win over Leyton Orient at Pride Park.

O’s boss Richie Wellen made five changes following the 2-2 draw with Exeter City on Tuesday with Tom James, Darren Pratley, George Moncur, Shaq Forde and Khayon Edwards coming into the side to replace Rob Hunt, Jayden Sweeney, Max Sanders, Ruel Sotiriou and Joe Pigott. 

Academy youngster Phil Chinedu called up into the first-team squad for the first time, took his place on the substitutes bench. 

Derby raced into the lead after only ten minutes when Kane Wilson tapped home Nathaniel Mendez-Laing’s corner at the far post – only for Sonny Bradley to then fire Louie Sibley’s corner high into the roof of the net to make it 2-0 just eight minutes later.

With Derby dominant and Londoners barely threatening, their first attack of the game fell to Ethan Galbraith just before the break – only for Bradley to block the Northern Ireland international’s effort and deprive O’s of the opportunity of being able to establish some sort of a foothold back into the match again.

Forde’s shot was deflected over the bar shortly after the resumption and the lively Mendez-Laing had a great chance to make it 3-0 just on the hour mark after racing clear with only Sol Brynn to beat – only for the Middlesbrough loanee to prove equal to the challenge, dramatically thwarting the Rams skipper at the last moment.

Ollie O’Neill fed Galbraith to fire just over the bar in the 64th minute, but four minutes before the close, Bradley put the game beyond doubt after heading home sub–Conor Hourihane’s corner at the back post – his second goal of the match – to make it 3-0.

Next up for Leyton Orient in Sky Bet League One is the visit of struggling Fleetwood Town to the Gaughan Group Stadium next Saturday (3pm)

Derby County: Wildsmith, Nelson, Bradley, Cashin, Wilson, Smith (Fornah 88′) Adams (Waghorn 89′) Sibley, Thompson (Hourihane 78′) Collins (Washington 88′) Méndez-Laing (Barkhuizen 88′) Subs not used: Blackett-Taylor, Vickers

Leyton Orient: Brynn, Galbraith, Beckles, Simpson, James (Sanders 77′), Pratley (Obiero 77′), Brown, Forde, Moncur (Hunt 63′), O’Neill, Edwards (Agyei 45′) Subs not used: Howes, Adu-Adjei, Chinedu

Referee: Lewis Smith

Assistants: Darren Williams and Garry Maskell

Fourth Official: Richard Morris

Attendance: 30,247