Sharks are sunk as Eagles finally take off

Sussex Sharks v Essex Eagles – Vitality Blast T20 South Group – The 1st Central County Ground, Hove – Summary

Essex Eagles 197/5 (20.0 overs)
Sussex Sharks 185/8 (20.0 overs)
Sussex Sharks won the toss and elected to bowl
Essex Eagles won by 12 runs

2019 champions, Essex Eagles, finally tasted victory in the 2020 Vitality Blast competition by recording a narrow 12-tun victory over in-form Sussex Sharks at Hove.

This was the Eagles first win at the seventh attempt, keeping their unlikely hopes of qualification on life support.

Dan Lawrence led the way with an impressive 81 off 44 balls. Tom Westley (39) and incoming wicketkeeper/batsman, Michael Pepper (34) helped the visitors to a healthy 197/5 – Delray Rawlins, 2/18, the pick of the Sussex attack.

Aaron Thomason’s 47 helped keep the contest on a knife-edge – Sam Cook and Lawrence each taking two wickets as the Essex bowlers grappled to keep a lid on the hosts progress.
And so it proved. Essex moved off the bottom of the South Group, that unwanted accolade now filled by Hampshire, who lost to leaders, Kent Spitfires.

Sussex Sharks: Luke Wright (Capt), Aaron Thomason, Calum MacLeod, Delray Rawlins, David Wiese, Ravi Bopara, George Garton, Ben Brown (WK), Ollie Robinson, Danny Briggs, Tymal Mills

Essex Eagles: Cameron Delport, Tom Westley, Dan Lawrence, Michael Pepper (WK), Ryan ten Doeschate, Paul Walter, Simon Harmer (Capt), Matthew Quinn, Jack Plom, Aron Nijjar, Sam Cook

Officials: Neil Bainton, Ian Gould and Graham Cowdrey


Brian Jeeves

Email: [email protected]