Smith ton helps Hadleigh see off Billericay

Hadleigh & Thundersley 1st v Billericay 1st – Hamro Foundation Essex League Premier Division – John Burrows Park – Summary

Billericay 185 (63.5 overs)

Hadleigh & Thundersley 188/8 (56.4)

Billericay won the toss and elected to bat

Hadleigh & Thundersley won by two wickets

A superb unbeaten 104 from Oliver Smith went some way towards Hadleigh & Thhundersley’s two wickets triumph over struggling Billericay at John Burrows Park.

Smith’s stellar knock came off 139 balls, including eight 4s and four 6s. Andy Smith took 3/56 and Ross Poulton 2/62 for the visitors.

Earlier, Billericay had been reduced to 185 – Hadleigh skipper, Adan Dobson taking 5/33, ably supported by 2/68 from Sam Handley – Rehman Ahmed offering some resistance with the bat, hitting an unbeaten 39 in vain for the Blunts Wall Road club who remain in the bottom two.

Hadleigh & Thundersley 1st: Darius Vapiwala, Jack Wagstaff, Samuel Handley, Adam Forbes, Oliver Smith, Luke Smith, Adam Soilleux, Ashley Bennett, Haider Ali Syed Zaidi, Adam Dobson, Richard Revell

Billericay 1st: Andy Smith (Capt), Kieran Emmanual, Mark Harmer, Lee Knight, David Houghton, Nathan Khelawon, Rehman Ahmed, Andy Smith, Ross Poulton, Olly Sarkar, Rob Rayner     

Points: Hadleigh & Thundersley 20 Billericay 7


Brian Jeeves

Email: [email protected]