Spurs ace Maddison cut from England Euro squad

Brian Jeeves

Tottenham Hotspur midfielder James Maddison was amongst seven players cut from Gareth Southgate’s initial 33-man squad ahead of Euro 24 in Germany later this month.

In reducing his squad to 26, Southgate also ditched James Trafford (Burnley), Jarrad Branthwaite (Everton), Jarell Quansah (Liverpool), Harry Maguire (Manchester United), Curtis Jones (Liverpool) and perhaps surprisingly, Jack Grealish (Manchester City).

Maddison took to social media, posting his disappointment, explaining via his X account;

Devastated doesn’t quite cut it.

Trained well and worked hard all week but if I’m honest with myself, my form for Spurs when coming back from injury in the second half of the season probably wasn’t at the levels I had set which gave Gareth a decision to make.

I still thought there would be a space for me in a 26-man squad as I feel I bring something different & had been a mainstay in this whole qualifying campaign for Euro 2024 in Germany but the manager has made the decision and I have to respect that.

I’ll be back, I have no doubt. Wishing the boys all the luck in the world out in Germany, unbelievable group and lads that I literally call some of my best friends. I genuinely hope football comes home.

England face Iceland at Wembley Stadium on Friday evening in their final warm-up match before the tournament. Southgate’s final 26-man squad, which includes West Ham United’s Jarrod Bowen, is as follows;

Goalkeepers: Dean Henderson (Crystal Palace), Jordan Pickford (Everton), Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal)

Defenders: Lewis Dunk (Brighton), Joe Gomez (Liverpool), Marc Guehi (Crystal Palace), Ezri Konsa (Aston Villa), Luke Shaw (Manchester United), John Stones (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier (Newcastle United), Kyle Walker (Manchester City)

Midfielders: Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Conor Gallagher (Chelsea), Kobbie Mainoo (Manchester United), Declan Rice (Arsenal), Adam Wharton (Crystal Palace)

Forwards: Jude Bellingham (Real Madrid), Jarrod Bowen (West Ham United), Eberechi Eze (Crystal Palace), Phil Foden (Manchester City), Anthony Gordon (Newcastle United), Harry Kane (Bayern Munich), Cole Palmer (Chelsea), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Ivan Toney (Brentford), Ollie Watkins (Aston Villa)


Brian Jeeves

Email: sport@yellowad.co.uk