Spurs slip to Wembley defeat as trophy wait continues

Manchester City 1-0 Tottenham Hotspur 

Tottenham’s hunt for a trophy will continue after Aymeric Laporte’s late header saw Manchester City lift the Carabao Cup at Wembley Stadium.

With restrictions gradually lifting, 8,000 fans were admitted to the National Stadium and witnessed a final largely dominated by Pep Guardiola’s men.

Laporte nodded home Kevin de Bruyne’s to secure a fourth successive triumph in the competition for City. Raheem Sterling and Phil Foden went close – the latter’s deflected effort hitting a post, while Riyad Mahrez and Joao Cancelo also went close.

Giovani Lo Celso tested Zack Steffen as Spurs finally offered a threat of their own. However, despite Tottenham offering a little more after the interval, it came as little surprise when the Etihad Stadium outfit settled it in the final stages.

Laport’s goal left a bitter taste for Spurs. Having somehow escaped a booking for a cynical foul on Lucas Moura, the French central defender was then cautioned for a similar foul, the Lilywhites pointing the finger at referee Paul Tierney who perhaps should have been brandishing a second caution after Moura was sent sprawling again.

Speaking after the game, Spurs’ interim boss said: “It was a difficult match. I thought in the first half we rode our luck on a couple of occasions. 

“There were times where it was controlled. In the second half, we had a good moment and some set plays and I felt while we didn’t create much in the second half, neither did they. It’s difficult to concede from a set-piece though.”

On Laport, Mason added: “I thought the first one was an absolute yellow but it’s not the talking point because if he gets the yellow he maybe doesn’t make the tackle. That’s not on our mind.”#

Spurs return to Premier League action on Sunday, May 2 when Sheffield United visit the Tottenham Hotspur Stadium (7:15pm).

Manchester City: Steffen, Walker, Dias, Laporte, Cancelo, Gundogan, Fernandinho (Capt) (Rodrigo 83’), De Bruyne (Bernardo 87’), Mahrez, Sterling, Foden Subs not used: Ederson (GK), Ake, Jesus, Aguero, Zinchenko, Torres, Mendy

Tottenham Hotspur: Lloris (Capt), Aurier (Bergwijn 90’), Alderweireld, Dier, Reguilon, Hojbjerg (Dele 84’), Winks, Lo Celso (Sissoko 67’), Lucas (Bale 67’), Kane, Son Subs not used: Hart (GK), Sanchez, Tanganga, Ndombele, Lamela

Referee: Paul Tierney

Assistant Referees: Lee Betts and Constantine Hatzidakis

Fourth Official: Peter Bankes

VAR: Andre Marriner

AVAR: Adrian Holmes


Brian Jeeves

Email: [email protected]