Super Hornchurch are FA Trophy winners

Hereford 1-3 Hornchurch

Pitching In Premier Division outfit, Hornchurch defied the odds, came from behind and saw off Vanarama National League North favourites, Hereford to win the 2021 Buildbase FA Trophy final at Wembley Stadium.

With fans in attendance, Liam Nash forced Bulls’ stopper, Brandon Hall into a save in the opening minutes. But following a well-worked short-corner routine, Tom Owen-Evans strike took a huge deflection off Oliver Muldoon before zipping just inside the upright to hand Hereford the lead.

Michael Bakare nodded wide, then clipped another attempt over as Hereford looked to double their advantage. Urchins’ keeper, Joseph Wright then flew to his left to rebuff Chris Camwell’s fizzing dead-ball attempt.

Joe Christou was a whisker away as Hornchurch returned spritely after the restart – Owen-Evans too high with the Bulls’ initial response, while Owen-Evans and Bakare teed up skipper Jared Hodgkiss to head over. Urchins’ substitute, Charlie Ruff was unable to direct goalwards after arriving on the hour to replace skipper, Lewis Spence.

Hornchurch pressed. Nash could only look on in frustration as Hodgkiss cleared off the line in the nick of time. But with their next foray forward, Ruff was on hand to equalise after Christou’s long throw had been deflected against the bar.

And with four minutes remaining, the Essex outfit turned the tie on its head. Nash on hand to supply a crisp, left-footed finish from ten yards – much to the delight of the vocal contingent of Urchins fans situated behind the goal.

And the Hornchurch supporters were in dreamland as the game moved into stoppage-time. Ellis Brown powerfully broke down the right before cutting in and firing past Hall to seal the contest.

Hereford: Brandon Hall, Jared Hodgkiss (Capt), Luke Haines, Jamie Grimes, Chris Camwell (James McQuilkin 74’), Joey Butlin, Tom Owen-Evans, Kyle Finn (Maziar Kouhyar 88’), Ryan Lloyd, Michael Bakare (Yan Klukowski 90’), Lewis Butroid Subs not used: Paul White (Capt), Ben Pollock, Kennedy Digie, Dylan Jones

Booked: None
Goals: Tom Owen-Evans 13’

Hornchurch: Joseph Wright, Mickey Purcell, Remi Sutton, Jordan Clark, Rickie Hayles, Oliver Muldoon, Joe Christou, Lewis Spence (Capt) (Charlie Ruff 60’), Sam Higgins (Chris Dickson 60’), Liam Nash (Charlie Stimson 90+1’), Ellis Brown Subs not used: Finley Thackway (GK), Ronnie Winn, Sakariya Hassan, Nathan Cooper

Booked: Rickie Hayles (foul), Charlie Ruff (over-celebrating) Liam Nash (over-celebrating)
Goals: Charlie Ruff 75’, Liam Nash 86’, Ellis Brown 90+2’

Referee: Tony Harrington
Assistants: Ian Cooper and Richard Wild
Fourth Official: Charles Breakspear

Brian Jeeves