Sussex v Essex – The Bob Willis Trophy – Day One – 1st Central County Ground, Hove – Team News

Damp conditions on the south coast ensured no play was possible before lunch. However, further inspections thought plausible 55 overs, following a break in the weather coupled with sterling efforts performed by the Sussex ground staff.

Essex won the toss and elected to bowl

Sussex: Phil Salt, Tom Haines, Harry Finch, Tom Clark, Ben Brown (WK Capt), Aaron Thomason, Delray Rawlins, George Garton, Henry Crocombe, Stuart Meaker, Mitch Claydon, 

Essex: Sir Alastair Cook, Nick Browne, Tom Westley (Capt), Dan Lawrence, Ryan ten Doeschate, Paul Walter, Adam Wheater (WK), Simon Harmer, Aaron Beard, Jamie Porter, Matt Quinn

Umpires: IJ Gould and M Newell

Scorers: GJ Irwin and P Elford

Match Referee: SJ Davis

Subscribe to get your latest local news articles by email each day...

Or click here to subscribe to our weekly digital edition. Your details will be stored to support your experience in line with our privacy policy.

Brian Jeeves

Email: [email protected]