Table-topping Buckhurst Hill are too strong for Wickford

Wickford 1st v Buckhurst Hill 1st – First XI Division One – Patmore Memorial Park – Report

Wickford 212 (45.0 overs)

Buckhurst Hill 215/2 (29.5 overs)

Buckhurst Hill won the toss and elected to bowl

Buckhurst Hill won by eight wickets

Wickford remain in serious relegation trouble after slipping to an eight-wicket defeat at the hands of table-topping Buckhurst Hill at the Patmore Memorial Park.

After being put in to bat, Wickford were dismissed for 212. Gareth Wright top-scored for the home side with 65 off 70 balls, while Billy Corps (39) and Usman Sahar (30*) also made contributions. Prithviraj Sarvaiya returned impressive bowling figures of four for 52 for the visitors.

Buckhurst Hill chased down their target inside thirty overs for the loss of just two wickets. Opening batter, Hendro Puchert finished unbeaten on 78, while Sandun Dias scored 56* and Ryan Karunakaran 47, helping their side establish an eighteen-point lead at the Division One summit.

Wickford 1st: C. Westwood (Capt), H. Ali, B. Corps, P. Corps, A. Deller, D. Etchells, R. McKenna (WK), A. Mercalfe, U. Sahar, H. Umer, G. Wright

Buckhurst Hill 1st: Hendro Puchert, Russell Beckett, Ryan Karunakaran, Sandun Dias, Thomas Kelsey, Daniel Platt (Capt), Ian Russell, Areeb Rashid, Saihaj Jaspal, Daniel Parkinson (WK), Prithviraj Sarvaiya

Brian Jeeves