Thunder thwarts Essex Hawks

Brian Jeeves

Lancashire v Essex Hawks – D40 Quest – Swinton Moorside Cricket Club – Report

Lancashire 93 (32.0 overs)

Essex Hawks 0 for one (0.1 overs)

Essex won the toss and elected to bowl

Match Abandoned

Wicket! Essex skipper, Joe Moss (right) returned brilliant bowling figures of 4-3-1-3 against Lancashire (Courtesy of Neil Robinson)

Essex Hawks’ were left frustrated by the weather after producing a hugely impressive bowling and fielding performance against a strong Lancashire side at Swinton Moorside Cricket Club.

Essex looked set to collect a valuable D40 Quest victory before a torrential thunderstorm drew an early conclusion to proceedings in the North West.

Benny Fryatt put Lancashire under pressure with a superb bowling performance (Courtesy of Neil Robinson)

While Alfie Jeeves and skipper Joe Moss took the plaudits after returning bowling figures of 5-1-21-4 and 4-3-1-3 respectively, it would be unfair not to mention the valuable contributions with the ball made by Ben Aust, Benny Fryatt, Isaac Elles, Conor Berry and Matthew Edwards as the home side were bowled out in thirty-two overs for 93. Tom Meskell top-scored for Lancs with 27.

Alfie Jeeves returned bowling figures of 5-1-21-4 (Courtesy of Neil Robinson)

Essex were lively and dominant in the field. Wicketkeeper, James Ward, oversaw the stumpings of Tyler Preece and Aaron O’Neill off the bowling of Jeeves while displaying a safe pair of hands to provide Berry with the wicket of McIntyre. Meanwhile, Gair’s pinpoint accuracy, with only one stump to aim at, saw the dangerous James Dixon dramatically run out.

Essex wicketkeeper, James Ward was in superb form (Courtesy of Neil Robinson)

To their credit, Lancashire refused to throw in the towel. Dixon had Asif Patel caught by Jack Fisher on the first ball of the Essex innings. However, at that point, the heavens opened, leaving the outfield saturated and the umpires with little option other than to abandon the match.

Essex’s Conor Berry provided a mature performance with the ball (Courtesy of Neil Robinson)

Lancashire: Tom Meskell, Adam Finneran, James Dixon, Jack Fisher, Tony Foster, Billy Gartside, Jack Hughes, D Kavanagh, Waqas Khan, Rory McIntyre, Aaron O’Neill

Essex Hawks: Asif Patel, James Ward, Conor Berry, Isaac Elles, Martyn Doe, Matthew Edwards, Benny Fryatt, Ben Aust, Alfie Jeeves, Joe Moss, Jack Gair

Scorers: Alan Foster


Brian Jeeves