Wickford are champions after edging past Harlow Town

Wickford 1st V Harlow Town 1st – Hamro Foundation Essex League (First XI Division Two) – Patmore Memorial Sports Ground – Summary

Wickford 200/9 (45.0 overs)

Harlow Town 185 (41.1 overs)

Harlow Town won the toss and elected to bowl

Wickford won by 15 runs

Wickford concluded a truly memorable campaign by lifting the Division Two title following a hard-fought 15-run victory over Harlow Town at the Patmore Memorial Sports Ground

Wickford posted a modest 200/9 with Chris Whitworth top-scoring with 60 off 112 balls. Huzaifa Umer contributed 31 – Chris Westwood and Ewan Thomas 25 and 23 respectively – Daniel Farmer and Jibran Azam each taking two wickets apiece for the visitors.

Harlow ensured the title race went right to the wire. Suraj Chauhan hit a quickfire 66 off 70, while Ashley Alderson (38) and Azam (31) kept the contest on a knife-edge. 

However, 4/23 from Connor Etchells and Huzaifa Umer’s 3/38, including the match-winning wicket of Connor Teale and thanks to a safe pair of hands from Thomas, saw the hosts home as the celebrations began.

Wickford 1st: Phillippe (Capt), Desai, Whitworth, R.Mckenna, H.Umer, Westwood, C.Etchells, D.Etchells, Wright, Deller, Thomas

Harlow Town: Patrick Yates, Jay Lowles, Suraj Chauhan, Shaun Alderson, Scott Alderson, Jibran Azam, Ashley Alderson, Daniel Farmer, Connor Teale, Ronnie Yates, Sam Wilson

Points: Wickford 1st 20 Harlow Town 1st 6


Brian Jeeves

Email: [email protected]