Wickford beat Leigh On Sea to extend their lead at the top

Wickford 1st v Leigh On Sea 1st – Hamro Essex League (1st XI Division 2) – Patmore Memorial Sports Ground – Summary

Leigh On Sea 209/9 (45.0 overs)
Wickford 211/3 (37.0 overs)
Leigh On Sea won the toss and elected to bat
Wickford won by seven wickets

Wickford saw off fellow title contenders, Leigh On Sea by seven wickets at the Patmore Memorial Sports Ground to extend their lead at the top of the table to seventeen points.

Ollie Wagstaff’s 78 off 98 balls helped Leigh On Sea – in second place at the start of play – to 209/9. James Spencer contributed 34, and skipper, Jon Edwards 24 – Andrew Metcalfe with 3/27, while Connor Etchells and Chirag Desai each took two wickets for the home side.

Wickford enhanced their lofty position with eight overs to spare. Ronnie McKenna finished unbeaten on 67, while Chris Whitworth (56) and wicketkeeper/batsman, Chris Westwood (44*) playing their part in an important victory.

Wickford: Phillippe (Capt), R.Mckenna, Whitworth, H.Umer, Westwood, Deller, Desai, C.Etchells, Wright, Tyerman, C.Smith

Leigh On Sea: Jon Edwards (Capt), Jack Wagstaff, Iain Macdonald, Oliver Wagstaff, Roy Smith, Joe Sexton, Matthew Wagstaff, Kevin Sargent (WK), TJ Bailey, A Rendall, J Spencer

Points: Wickford 20 Leigh On Sea 4


Brian Jeeves

Email: [email protected]