Wickford see off Woodford Wells to move out of the dropzone

Wickford 1st v Woodford Wells 1st – First XI Division One – Patmore Memorial Ground – Report

Woodford Wells 108 (34.2 overs)

Wickford 109/4 (24.2 overs)

Wickford won the toss and elected to bowl

Wickford won by four wickets

A five wickets haul for Dean Etchells, coupled with a half-century from Huzaifa Umer ensured Wickford a four-wicket victory over Woodford Wells at the Patmore Memorial Ground.

Etchells impressively took five for 18 from his ten overs as the visitors were knocked over inside 35 overs for 108 – Woodford skipper, Joe Johnson offering the only notable response with 42 off 77 balls.

Umer’s 59 from 70 included eight 4s and one 6. Wickford leapfrogged their opponents as a result.

Wickford 1st: C. Westwood (Capt)(WK), H. Ali, S. Botrill, P. Corps, A. Deller, C. Desai, D. Etchells, L. Grimes, A. Metcalfe, H. Umer, G. Wright

Woodford Wells 1st: Harry Neicho, Joe Johnson (Capt), George Wells, Ben Kingsnorth (WK), Ben Munson, Gareth James, Tomos Fowler, Brandon Graber, Devon Solanki, Yazaan Khursheed, George Ellis

Brian Jeeves

Email: [email protected]